Elgiz Collection



Barbara Kruger, Cindy Sherman, Gilbert&George, David Salle, Thomas Houseago, Aaron Young, Fabian Marcaccio, Tony Cragg, Bjaarne Melgaard, Adnan Coker, Stephan Balkenhol, Jim Shaw, Liam Gillick, Abdurrahman Oztoprak, Ferhat Ozgur, Ola Kolehmainen, Senol Yorozlu, Mehmet Dennis Gun, Gareth Weiser, Tracey Emin, Paul McCarthy, Matthew Monahan, Markus Oehlen, Elke Krystufek, Erwin Wurm, Azade Koker, Lisa Ruyter, Friederike Feldman, Julian Schnabel, Burcu Aksoy, Meric Hizal, Bedri Baykam


17 May 2001-28 Sep 2020


Elgiz Museum (NPO), is the first contemporary art Museum in Turkey, founded in 2001 by the collectors Sevda & Can Elgiz. In 2012, Elgiz Museum transformed its roof terrace into an open-air exhibition space for large scale and durable sculptures and Land Art. The terrace, 1500 Sq/m on top of the museum, is the only open air exhibition space in İstanbul that provides a temporary exhibition platform artists. The art space is entering its 6th year, and in 2018 will host its 10th exhibition dedicated to contemporary sculpture.


Elgiz Family have been supporting careers of established and emerging Turkish & international artists since the 1980s. They had started collecting Contemporary Art as a passion, as the first contemporary art collectors in Turkey. Soon this passion grew, and led them to found the non-profit Elgiz Museum for their collection to be accessible to public. Elgiz Museum has the mission to be an accessible and independent space for Contemporary Art in İstanbul to benefit the artists and the art enthusiasts. Majority of these past exhibitions have been international open calls and meticulous selections by acknowledged academics and professionals in the field in Turkey to support emerging artists and expand the sphere of contemporary art with a close commitment to its audience.


Initially, the museum was named as Proje4L, Where many artist’s Projects and exhibitions were commissoned between the years 2001 to 2005. The museum has always been a non-profit institution since the day it opened. This was important and a  matchless support to the development of contemporary art in Turkey as there were no other institutions at the time that supported artist projects and exhibitions in that manner. It goes without saying that this support enabled and shaped the contemporary art of Turkey and many of the artists that were supported by the Elgiz Family then are now established, internationally acclaimed artists. In 2005, the museum moved to a much larger space in order to house the collection of the Elgiz Family. 

The permanent exhibition area houses the Elgiz Collection, where the highlights and characteristic works from the collection are exhibited permanently (with a few changes throughout the years) with works by artists such as Barbara Kruger, Gilbert&George, Tony Cragg, Fabian Marcaccio, Markus Oehlen, Gareth Weiser, Tracey Emin, David Salle, Julian Schnabel, Paul McCarthy, Liam Gillick, Bjaarne Melhaard, Jonathan Meesse, Thomas Houseago any many more. The permanent exhibition area also includes Works by Turkish artists such as Azade Köker, Adnan Çoker, Abdurrahman Öztoprak and Ferhat Özgür.